債權人
上次更新時間:2020年1月

本頁上的信息僅作為介紹,不應代替法律建議。

債權人
如果您欠某人(稱為債權人)的錢,他們可以向地方法院申請必須償還債務的命令。一旦地方法官對您作出判決,宣布您欠款,則將按原始債務之上的罰款利率產生利息。

法院管理當局描述法院如何處理$ 12 000以下的事項

http://www.courts.sa.gov.au/RepresentYourself/CivilClaims/MinorClaims/Pages/default.aspx

與債權人談判
您可以嘗試與債權人協商以分期或一次性償還判決債務。如果您的一筆款項少於實際債務,則應嘗試與債權人協商以接受一筆一筆款項,並免除剩餘的債務。例如,如果您欠5,000美元,而您提供3,000美元,這可能足以最終確定債務。在這種情況下,總是值得嘗試與債權人進行談判。

或者,您可以提出分期償還債務。您提供的在一定期限內支付的金額應合理,與債務金額和您的財務狀況成正比,否則債權人不太可能同意。如果您提出分期償還債務的提議,則應嘗試與債權人達成一項在償還期內將不再產生利息的安排。

執行判決債務最常見的方法是什麼?
如果對您作出了判決,而債務仍未償還,則債權人有權強制償還債務。

破產
如果您無力償還債務,也無法與債權人達成適當的還款安排,則您可以自願提出破產申請(稱為債務人的請願書),或者債權人可以採取行動使您按照債務人的指示宣布破產。聯邦法院或聯邦巡迴法院(稱為扣押令)。

如果您被宣布破產,破產受託人有責任處理您所欠的所有款項和所擁有的任何資產。受託人將確定您的金錢或資產是否可用於償還您的未償債務。

破產通常持續三年零一天。破產時有以下後果/限制:

-您的房屋和車輛可能被出售
-如果您的收入超過一定限額,則可能需要您從收入中繳納費用
-除非獲得法院許可,否則您無法管理公司
-未經受託人允許,您不得出國旅行
-您將被永久記錄在國家個人破產指數中
-您會發現很難借錢和用信用卡購買東西。

如果您考慮破產,應該從財務顧問那裡獲得建議。

Creditors
Last updated: January 2020

The information set out on this page is intended as an introduction only and should not be relied on in place of legal advice.

To make contact with a legal centre specific to your location

Kangaroo Island residents:

Southern Community Justice Centre

1300 850 650

Adelaide Hills including Cudlee Creek residents:

Uniting Communities Law Centre

83421800

Consumer Credit Law Centre (State-wide)

Advice on consumer credit problems including debt, hardship, credit law issues involving disputes with creditors, bankruptcy, mortgage stress, inability to negotiate payment plans and conduct by creditors.

83421800

Creditors
If you owe money to someone (called a creditor), they can apply to the Magistrates’ Court for an order that the debt must be paid. Once a judgment has been made against you by a magistrate declaring that you owe an amount of money, interest will accrue at the penalty interest rate on top of the original debt.

The Courts Administration Authority describes how Court deals with matters under $12 000 

http://www.courts.sa.gov.au/RepresentYourself/CivilClaims/MinorClaims/Pages/default.aspx

Negotiating with the creditor
You can try to negotiate with the creditor to repay the judgment debt either by instalments or as a lump sum. If you have a lump sum of money that is less than the actual debt, you should try to negotiate with the creditor to accept the lump sum and waive the remainder of the debt. For example, if you owe $5,000 and you offer $3,000, this might be enough to finalise the debt. It is always worth trying to negotiate with the creditor in this situation.

Alternatively, you could offer to repay the debt in instalments. The amount that you offer to pay over a set period should be reasonable, in proportion to the amount of the debt and your financial circumstances, or the creditor is unlikely to agree. If you make an offer to repay the debt by instalments, you should try and come to an arrangement with the creditor that interest will cease to accrue during the repayment period.

What are the most common methods of enforcing a judgment debt?
If a judgment has been entered against you and the debt remains unpaid, the creditor has the right to enforce payment of the debt.

Bankruptcy
If you are unable to pay your debts and cannot come to a suitable repayment arrangement with your creditor, you may voluntarily lodge a petition to become bankrupt (called a debtor’s petition) or the creditor may take action to have you declared bankrupt by order of the Federal Court or Federal Circuit Court (called a sequestration order).

If you are declared bankrupt, the Bankruptcy Trustee has responsibility for dealing with all monies you owe and any assets you have. The trustee will determine if your money or assets can be used to pay your outstanding debts.

 

Bankruptcy normally lasts for three years and one day. The following consequences/restrictions apply while you are bankrupt:

- your house and vehicle may be sold
-if your income exceeds a certain limit, you may be required to pay a contribution from your income
- you cannot manage a company unless you have permission from the court
- you will not be allowed to travel overseas without the permission of the trustee
- you will be recorded on the National Personal Insolvency Index forever
- you will find it difficult to borrow money and buy things on credit.

 

You should get advice from a financial counsellor if you are considering bankruptcy.

©2020 by Community Legal Centres South Australia     

projects@clcsa.org.au